P.E.A.C.E

Oct. 25, 2004, 8:42 a.m. / / / / Early Morning Thoughts

There is this man at my job. And he's blind. And everyday I see him I think of how much I take for granted. He's fully capable of doing just about everything a person who isn't visually impared can do. He runs the caffeteria at the office, and sometimes he can tell what dollar bill you have given him JUST by the feel of the bill. That my dear is a-maz-ing!!!!! He's so nice. He's got three children, I believe and it sucks like hell that he'll never get a chance to see how beautiful they are. It sucks that he wont know what it's like to visit the fair and see all the lights and games and all. OR visit the zoo. I was at the fair this weekend and saw this little girl who couldn't have been no more than seven years old and she was blind. Her mother and I struck up a conversation and as we were talking the little girl asked her mother if she could play the game by herself, her mother told her that she would have to help her so she wouldn't miss the target. The little girl then became irritated and annoyed. My heart sunk. She's just a kid. She's been blind since birth and she's never laid eyes on her mothers face. She's never seen the sun, or the moon. She'll never get to witness the beauty of a rose, she'll never quite understand the feeling young girls get when they see a cute boy (or girl ... i'm politically correct) for the 1st time. And she'll never see the beautiful curly brown haired little girl everyone else does. Ashley asked me if I could lose one sense, your eyesight or hearing, which would it be. Automatically, I said my hearing because then I wouldn't have to just tune people out. It was a joke but then I got sad when I actually thought about it. I love music. I can't imagine my life without the melody's and the beats of music. I love the sound of the ocean. I love the sound of laughter. What would my world be like if all of that was taken away from me. The mere idea of not being able to lay eyes on the transformation of my body as I was carrying my child would ... *sigh* there are no words for it. I'm a conceited lil heiffa and I LOVE looking at myself in the mirror. I can't begin to imagin to never know how beautifull I was (not being cocky or anything but facts are facts, lol). Man ... anyway I must be getting to work now. Like I always say I'm pretty sure something thru-out the day will bring me back.

One.Love

before after


wishlist

My Bloginality is ENFP!!!


The current mood of GraciousFemme at www.imood.com

Site Meter

2002 - 2004 N.Danielle

The WeatherPixie

< ? Blogs By Black Women # >